World Maths Day for Mathletics Teachers

Save this date! On the 23rd of March 2022, millions of students across the globe will come together for World Maths Day. This year is especially exciting as it also marks 15 years of World Maths Day.

As a Mathletics subscriber, your students are already registered if they have Mathletics logins. All they need to do is to log in to their Mathletics account and compete on the actual day.

Not a Mathletics user yet? Your school can still take part. Head over to this page to register for World Maths Day, and you’ll receive details on how you can participate.

world maths day 2022 logo

Join millions of students across the globe as they celebrate World Maths Day!

Pre-register today

 

What is World Maths Day?

World Maths Day is the largest online maths competition in the world, with over a million students expected to login and take part across the 48-hours.

What day is World Maths Day?

World Maths Day is officially on the 23rd of March. However, the event has a global start date, meaning some students will have access from the 22nd March. Here’s a list of the different global start dates and times:

  • 8am NZ time (UTC +13) – 23rd March
  • 6am Sydney time (UTC +11) – 23rd March
  • 7pm UK time (UTC +0) – 22nd March
  • 3pm New York time (UTC -4) – 22nd March
  • 1pm Calgary time (UTC – 6) – 22nd March
  • 12pm LA time (UTC -7) – 22nd March

Do I need to register for my students?

Nope. Registration is not required for Mathletics users. As a Mathletics user your students are ready to go. However, to stay up to date with the latest World Maths Day information and results, fill in a short form here.

What do students do on the day?

On the 23rd of March, students simply log into their Mathletics account. Once in they’ll see the World Maths Day button. Once clicked they’ll find themselves in an updated Live Mathletics console. On the right-hand side will be a World Maths Day panel, showing students which Live Mathletics levels they can compete in to generate their World Maths Day score.

How can my students prepare?

Practice! Check out our 7 essential tips to get you prepped for the big day.

Is there anything I can do?

The number one thing you can do as a teacher is to ensure that your students can access Live Mathletics. That means, if you’ve assigned any curriculum activities, Skill Quests (previously known as UPF or Understanding Practice and Fluency) or PSR work, it may prevent them from accessing Live Mathletics and the World Maths Day platform.

To make sure this doesn’t happen (and keep the assigned activities), simply head into the ‘Assign’ area of Mathletics and make sure student access is set to ‘Student Open Access’.

blog-screenshot-worldmathsday

To help you get started, we’ve created a World Maths Day teacher guide.

World Maths Day Handbook for teachers

Get hints and tips on how to get the most out of World Maths Day.

Download your teacher guide here

Any questions about World Maths Day?

You can always refer to our FAQs or contact us directly.

Categories Mathematics

You might like...

Read World Maths Day is back!
blog-world-maths-day-is-back
World Maths Day is back!
Read 8 Ways Mathseeds Plants Core Mathematics Fundamentals In Early Learners
How Mathseeds Plant Mathematics Fundamentals For Early Learners
8 Ways Mathseeds Plants Core Mathematics Fundamentals In Early Learners