Frequently Asked Questions

Everything you wanted to know about World Maths Day. If you can’t find what you’re looking for, contact the World Maths Day team here.

What can our school spend the $500 3P Learning voucher on?

The voucher is redeemable for any 3P Learning supplied product within your region – including Mathletics and Readiwriter Spelling.

How do I know which Champions Challenge regional event I fall into?

The regions are dictated by UTC time zone that you live in.

APAC region – +5, +6, +7, +8, +9, +10, +11, +12
AMER region – -12, -11, -10, -9, -8, -7, -6, -5, -4, -3
EMEA region – -2, -1, 0, +1, +2, +3, +4

How does the School Challenge work?

The School’s Challenge is a Year/Grade challenge. The school with the highest average score in a specific Year/Grade will finish top for that Year/Grade.

The score is worked out by taking the total points earned and dividing it by the number of students taking part from that school. If you have less than 10 students in a year group at the school, the overall score will be divided by 10.

When will winners be notified that they qualified for the Champions Challenge?

Around the 10th of May.

What is the date of the Champions Challenge?

28th of May 2021.

Why does World Maths Day start on the 4th of May for some countries?

World Maths Day is designed to start simultaneously across all regions. Meaning that students can compete against students from across the globe – not just in their time zone. This also means that some students will have access on the 4th of May.

Is there a school Challenge?

Yes.

What are the technical requirements?

Read more on technical requirements here.

When is the event?

World Maths Day offically takes place on the 5th of May 2021.

How do I register?

Just fill out the registration form. If you’re a Mathletics user, simply log in on the day.

Is there a warm up period?

Yes. The warm up period begins on the 21st of April.

If I already have Mathletics do I need to register?

No. You’re ready to go. Just log into Mathletics during the event and head to Live Mathletics.

Do I need a Mathletics subscription?

No. World Maths Day is open to all school-aged students.

Is this free?

Yes.

Is there an age limit?

Yes. The event is restricted to school-aged students (4-18).

How do I login?

Head here to login.

How long is a World Maths Day 'live maths game'?

60 seconds.

How many World Maths Day 'live maths game' can I complete for points?

20 live maths games count towards your World Maths Day score.

How many wrong answers can I get in each live maths game before it stops?

3 wrong answers per live maths game.

Do I have to compete in my grade?

Yes.

What age groups are there?

K/F, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9+

Does everyone answer the same questions?

Questions are randomised between live maths games. But within the live maths games the 4 participants will get the same questions.

Does everyone compete at the same level?

No. There are multiple levels to suit all mathematical abilities.

What happens once I complete my 20 games?

Your World Maths Day pointing scoring is done. But you can continue to access Live maths games and other areas of Mathletics.

Can I challenge other people in my class?

Yes. You can initiate a class challenge in the live maths platform.

What topics are in the games?

Topics vary between levels.

What are the prizes?

Prizes to be announced.

What time does it start in my timezone?

8am NZDT time – 5th May
6am AEST time – 5th May
8pm BST time – 4th May
4pm EDT time – 4th May
2pm MDT time – 4th May
1pm PDT time – 4th May