Worlds Maths Day for Mathletics teachers

On the 5th of May, millions of students across the globe will come together for World Maths Day and, as a Mathletics user, your students are already registered! (if you’re not a Mathletics user head here and register for World Maths Day) They just need to log into Mathletics on the day.

What is World Maths Day?

World Maths Day is the largest online maths competition in the world, with over a million students expected to login and take part across the 48-hours.

Do I need to register?

Nope! As a Mathletics user your students are ready to go.

What do they do on the day?

On the 5th of May, students simply log into their Mathletics account. Once in they’ll see the World Maths Day button. Once clicked they’ll find themselves in an updated Live Mathletics console. On the right-hand side will be a World Maths Day panel, showing students which Live Mathletics levels they can compete in to generate their World Maths Day score.

When is it?

Although World Maths Day is the 5th of May. The event has a global start date. Meaning some students will have access from the 4th of May. For guidance on global start dates, refer below:

8am NZDT time – 5th May
6am AEST time – 5th May
8pm BST time – 4th May
4pm EDT time – 4th May
2pm MDT time – 4th May
1pm PDT time – 4th May

How can the students prepare?

The answer is simple. Practice. Feel free to check out our 7 essential tips to get you prepped for the big day.

Is there anything I can do?

The number one thing you can do as a teacher is to ensure that your students can access Live Mathletics. That means, if you’ve assigned any curriculum activities, UPF or PSR work, it may prevent them from accessing Live Mathletics and the World Maths Day platform. To make sure this doesn’t happen (and keep the assigned activities), simply head into the ‘Assign’ area of Mathletics and make sure student access is set to ‘Student Open Access’.

blog-screenshot-worldmathsday

Any questions about World Maths Day?

You can always refer to our FAQs or contact us directly.

Categories Mathematics

You might like...

Read Math Enrichment Activities | How to Take Advanced Learners to the Next Level
student doing math enrichment activities
Math Enrichment Activities | How to Take Advanced Learners to the Next Level
Read 5 Real-World Math Activities to Teach the Importance of Numbers
real world math activities
5 Real-World Math Activities to Teach the Importance of Numbers
Read 10 Seriously Fun (and Simple) Math Activities
fun math activities
10 Seriously Fun (and Simple) Math Activities
Read 7 Halloween Math Activities for Holiday Learning Fun
halloween math activities
7 Halloween Math Activities for Holiday Learning Fun